Who is on the shortlist to win BBC Sports Personality of the Year?


Here’s everything you need to know:

When is it?

The ceremony will take place on Sunday 20 December.

How can I watch it?

The whole ceremony, a virtual event for the first time, will be shown on BBC One with coverage hosted by Gabby Logan, Clare Balding, Gary Lineker and Alex Scott beginning at 7pm.

The show will also be broadcast live on the BBC Sport website via BBC iPlayer.

How can I vote for the winner?

As usual viewers will be able to cast their vote for their favourite during the live show, which will run until around 9pm.

Who won last year?

Hamilton finished in second place, while athletics star Dina Asher Smith came in third.

Ben Stokes won BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 2019


Who are this year’s nominees?

Lewis Hamilton (Formula One)

Jordan Henderson (Football)

Ronnie O’Sullivan (Snooker)

Who are the previous winners?

2000: Steve Redgrave (Rowing)

2001: David Beckham (Football)

2002: Paula Radcliffe (Athletics)

2003: Jonny Wilkinson (Rugby Union)

2004: Kelly Holmes (Athletics)

2005: Andrew Flintoff (Cricket)

2006: Zara Phillips (Eventing)

2007: Joe Calzaghe (Boxing)

2008: Chris Hoy (Cycling)

2009: Ryan Giggs (Football)

2010: Tony McCoy (Racing)

2011: Mark Cavendish (Cycling)

2012: Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)

2013: Andy Murray (Tennis)

2014: Lewis Hamilton (Formula One)

2015: Andy Murray (Tennis)

2016: Andy Murray (Tennis)

2017: Mo Farah (Athletics)

2018: Geraint Thomas (Cycling)

2019: Ben Stokes (Cricket)

Who is going to win this year?

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here